Skip to Main Content

Brief History of the College

Idaho State University College of Pharmacy was founded by Eugene O Leonard in 1920 at the Idaho Technical Institute in Pocatello, Idaho.  Mr. Leonard began as the director of the Division of Pharmacy and then served as Dean until 1948. 

The pharmacy program was initially housed in Swanson Hall.  It resided for short periods in Faris Hall and Baldwin Hall before it finally landed in Leonard Hall in 1942, where classes continue today. 

Classes in the two-year pharmacy program leading to the PhG (Pharmacy Graduate) were first offered in 1920.  By 1922, the three-year PhC (Pharmaceutical Chemist) degree was also available.  In the fall of 1929 the school began offering the four-year BS degree in pharmacy under the banner of the Southern Branch of the University of Idaho.  By 1932, the BS degree was mandatory in all states for licensure in pharmacy.  In 1986, the Doctor of Pharmacy degree became the single entry-level professional degree in pharmacy. 

Enrollment has ranged from 40 students in 1925 to 337 students in 1976. 

Over the years, we have grown to provide quality education with students and faculty at 3 full sites in Alaska and Idaho.  Today, our student outreach programs receive regional and national awards, and our pass rates for the NAPLEX remain highly competitive.  We currently hold full accreditation by the Accreditation Council of Pharmacy Education through 2025.