Skip to Main Content
Laura Ahola-Young

Laura Ahola-Young, MFA

Faculty Senate Co-Chair, Assistant Professor, Department of Art, College of Arts and Letters

Office: Department of Art, 921 S 8th Avenue, Stop 8004, Pocatello, ID 83209


Laura Ahola-Young received her MFA from San Jose State University in 2001.  She is an Assistant Professor of Art and leads the Painting and Drawing program. Originally from northern Minnesota, Laura has been influenced by landscapes, winters, ice and resilience. She is currently developing work that incorporates scientific research, Landscape and personal narrative. Her paintings and drawings have been on exhibit nationally.

S. Hossein Mousavinezhad

S. Hossein Mousavinezhad, Ph.D.

Faculty Senate Co-Chair, Associate Program Director/Professor, Department of Physics, Nuclear, and Electrical Engineering, College of Science and Engineering

Office: Department of Physics, Nuclear, and Electrical Engineering, 921 S 8th Avenue, Stop 8060, Pocatello, ID 83209


Dr. Mousavinezhad joined Idaho State University in July 2007 as Electrical Engineering Department Chair. He is Founding General Chair of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) International Conferences on Electro Information Technology and a Fellow of American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) serving as Program Chair for Energy Conversion and Conservation Division, 2017-2018. Dr. Mousavinezhad has co-authored a recent book, Mobile (Hand-Held) Computing and was a PI on a research grant (wireless communications and enhancing access to electromagnetic spectrum) funded by the National Science Foundation. He teaches courses in Circuits & Systems, Electromagnetics and Digital Signal Processing.

Professor Mousavinezhad is ISU’s Engineering Accreditation Coordinator and an ABET Program Evaluator for Electrical and Computer Engineering Programs. He has prepared self-study reports for ABET ISU campus visits since 2007 and visits domestic and non-domestic engineering programs as PEV. Dr. Mousavinezhad’s research interests includes Bio-electromagnetics, Engineering Education, and Digital Signal Processing. Before joining Idaho State University he was Professor and Electrical/Computer Engineering (ECE) Department Chair at Western Michigan University. Professor Mousavinezhad’s graduate degrees are from Michigan State University and his BSEE degree is from National Taiwan University. He has been serving as ISU CoSE faculty senator since 2014.

Paul Watkins

Paul Watkins, Ph.D.

Past Senate Chair 2017-2018

Office: College of Education, 921 S 8th Avenue Stop 8380, Pocatello, ID 83209

(208) 282-3257

Dr. Paul Watkins is a professor working with doctoral students in Higher Education Leadership in the College of Education at ISU. He has served two years on the ISU faculty senate and is continuing as the co-chair of the Senate for 2017-2018. Prior to joining ISU in 2013, he served as a consultant related to innovation in higher education, chief academic officer and vice president of academic affairs, dean of two different colleges, associate dean, director of a Ph.D. program, and founding director of an interdisciplinary advanced technologies in information systems program. His background in accreditation and accountability in higher education has been broad and intensive. He has an extensive peer-reviewed academic publication and presentation record and has made numerous presentations to professional societies and organizations. Additionally, he has been a consultant to a number of top-level global companies and served on a United Nations subcommittee with members of the Brookings Institute dealing with issues related to transnational border flows. He earned tenure at the University of Southern California and received a number of awards and recognition for his scholarship, research grants, and service to the university and community.

List of Faculty Senate Chairs

List of Faculty Senate Chairs