Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University

Kasiska Family honored for decades of contributions to ISU health care education

August, 31, 2016

The largest academic unit of Idaho State University has been named the Kasiska Division of Health Sciences to recognize the generosity of the Kasiska Family Foundation.

More than 4,000 students at ISU have received scholarships from the Kasiska Family Foundation since 1987. A total of more than $14 million has already been given in the past decades, and a new donation of $3 million was announced during Tuesday’s naming event, bringing the total to more than $17 million.

“We are delighted to hear about this newest donation,” said Linda Hatzenbuehler, vice provost and executive dean of the Kasiska Division of Health Sciences, “The cost of professional education has increased dramatically over the years and the scholarships offered through these gifts will reduce the educational debt for the future health care providers of Idaho. The KDHS mission has always been to educate health care teams for rural America.”

The Kasiska Division of Health Sciences makes up roughly one third of the total ISU student body and houses the College of Pharmacy, School of Nursing, School of Health Professions, Office of Medical and Oral Health and the School of Rehabilitation and Communication Sciences. The KDHS offers 22 health professions programs and operates 15 clinics on ISU campuses.

The name change was made official Aug. 30 in an event attended by Hatzenbuehler, ISU President Arthur Vailas, Vice President of Health Sciences Rex Force and the Kasiska Family Foundation Board of Managers Alan Van Orden, Dave Gallafent and Kirk Reeder who have been continuing the tradition started by Eva and Mabel Kasiska. The name change will be reflected throughout ISU campuses in Pocatello and Meridian.

The recipients of the Kasiska Family Foundation scholarships have a graduation rate of 80 percent. Of the more than 4,000 scholarship recipients, more than 1,000 have graduated with advanced degrees.  The Kasiska Division of Health Sciences was previously known as the Division of Health Sciences.