Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University

Boise Business Leaders of the Year Will Return for March 27-28 ISU Business Centennial Reunion

Pocatello - Six past Idaho Business Leaders of the Year will help the Idaho State University College of Business celebrate the university's 100th birthday.

They will return to campus Wednesday and Thursday, March 27 and 28, for the Centennial Celebration Idaho State Business Leader of the Year Reunion.

The six include Robert C. Hammond, 1983 winner, Jensen Oil Co.; Park Price III, 1987, Park Price Motor Co.; Gordon C. Smith, 1994, J.R. Simplot Co.; Mike Mooney, 1996, KeyBank; Frank VanderSloot, 1998, Melaleuca Inc.; and William Glynn, 1999, Intermountain Industries Inc.

ISU students of the Delta Upsilon chapter of Alpha Kappa Psi professional business fraternity annually select an Idaho Business Leader of the Year. For this Centennial year they invited past award recipients to return to campus and serve as executives-in-residence for the two-day period. Those from Boise participating include William Glynn and Mike Mooney.

  • Glynn: The president and a director of Intermountain Industries Inc. and subsidiaries including Intermountain Gas Co., III Exploration Co., Petroglyph Energy Inc. and InterWest Capital Inc. He chaired the Boise Area Chamber of Commerce Board, the Idaho Association of Commerce and Industry, and the Boise Area Economic Development Council. The Sales and Marketing Executive of Boise named him Top Manager of the Year in 1997.
  • Mooney: The Idaho district president of KeyBank. An ISU graduate, he is the past president of the ISU Foundation, serving during the Centennial Campaign, was 1995 winner of the College of Business Professional Achievement Award and serves on the College's Advisory Council. He is a current or past president or chairman of the Idaho Bankers Association, Idaho Business Council, and the Boise Greater Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce.
  • Hammond: The president and owner of Jenson Oil Co., Challis, Idaho, and owner of Challis Hot Springs resort. He is a past president of the Idaho Falls Chamber of Commerce, serves on ISU College of Business Advisory Council, and is a member of the Intermountain Health Care senior board of directors. He helped create INTERSEC (Intermountain Science Experience Center), which evolved into the Center for Higher Education in Idaho Falls, and served on its first board of directors.
  • Price: The owner and president of the Park Price Motor Co., Pocatello. Park and his wife, Sharon, received the 2001 William J. Bartz Award for service to ISU. He is a past president of the ISU Foundation board of directors and a member of its investment committee, and is a member of the College of Business Advisory Council. He is annually a leader in the "I Love ISU" Campaign.
  • Smith: The retired president of the J.R. Simplot Co., and current owner of G.C. Smith LLC, which includes cattle operations and land and financial investments. An ISU graduate, he is chairman of the St. Luke's Regional Medical Center and Mountain States Tumor Institute boards, and is a board member of the Boise Chamber of Commerce, First Security Corp., J.R. Simplot Co., Idaho Bank and Trust Co., American Mining Congress, and Blue Cross of Idaho and a past member of the College's Advisory Council.
  • VanderSloot: The president and chief executive officer of Melaleuca Inc. in Idaho Falls. He previously was regional vice president of Automated Data Processing and vice president of Cox Communications, both Fortune 500 companies. He was the 2001 USA Today Entrepreneur of the Year for the northwestern region of the United States and serves as regional vice president for the U.S. Chamber of Commerce. He has received the Service to the Community Award.

- March 18, 2002

Written by: Glenn Alford
Contact: Dave Stephen, (208) 282-3585