

# FACULTY SENATE 2023-2024

ISU Faculty Senate Agenda Monday, August 28, 2023 4:00-6:00 p.m. Location: Shirley Sargent Family Boardroom, Student Union Building, Pocatello Campus

Or join via Zoom: <a href="https://isu.zoom.us/j/83464862851?pwd=M0VqSERaQjBGZ3A0RFFiY3dWbnRMdz09">https://isu.zoom.us/j/83464862851?pwd=M0VqSERaQjBGZ3A0RFFiY3dWbnRMdz09</a>

Meeting ID: 834 6486 2851

Passcode: 692492

In Attendance:

**Appearing by ZOOM:** 

Absent but Excused:

Absent:

**Ex-Officio:** 

Recording Secretary: Lisa Hunt

- 1) Chair Call Meeting to Order/Remarks
- 2) Reading of Tribal Land Acknowledgement
- 3) Open Forum
- 4) Approve Today's Meeting Agenda
- 5) Faculty Senate Minutes Approval May 1, 2023

### 6) Announcements

- a) Faculty Senate Parliamentarian
  - i) Must not be a Faculty Senator; Dan Dale is willing to serve
- b) The following elected positions were not filled in the spring so fall elections for these positions must be held **IMMEDIATELY**:
  - i) Faculty Senate
    - (1) CAL Fine Arts/Humanities
      - (a) Replacing Bethany Schultz Hurst
    - (2) College of Health At-Large
  - (a) Replacing Dave Hachey ii) Academic Standards Council
    - (1) College of Tech
      - (a) Replacing Tim Leishman



# FACULTY SENATE 2023-2024

- (2) College of Business
- (a) Replacing Ruiling Guo
- iii) Faculty Professional Policies Council
  - (1) College of Business
    - (a) Replacing Tesa Stegner
  - (2) Lecturer-At-Large
- iv) Research Council
  - (1) College of Tech
- v) General Education Requirements Committee sub-committee under Undergraduate Curriculum Council
  - (1) CoSE Physics/Eng/Math
    - (a) Replacing DeWayne Derryberry
  - (2) College of HS (not from Nursing)
  - (a) Replacing Leciel Bono
- vi) Standing Appeals Panel
  - (1) CAL has filled all 3 positions
  - (2) CoSE has filled 1 position, need 2 additional
  - (3) College of Business need 2
  - (4) College of Ed need 2
  - (5) College of Tech need 2
  - (6) College of HS need 2
  - (7) College of Pharm need 1
  - (8) Library need 1
- vii) Academic Integrity Council (new Senate Council)
  - (1) CAL need 1
  - (2) CoSE need 1
  - (3) College of Business need 1
  - (4) College of Ed need 1
  - (5) College of Tech need 1
  - (6) College of HS need 1
  - (7) College of Pharm need 1
- viii) Bachelors of Applied Science Committee sub-committee under Undergraduate Curriculum Council
  (1) CAL need 1
  - (2) College of Tech need 1

### 7) Consent Agenda (Click link(s) below for document(s))

- a) FPPC Official Minutes April 26, 2023
- b) <u>GERC Official Minutes March 28, 2023</u>
- c) <u>GERC Official Minutes April 25, 2023</u>
- d) <u>RC Official Minutes April 14, 2023</u>
- e) UCC Official Minutes April 27, 2023

## 8) President Satterlee Report

a) Budget and general updates

## 9) Interim Provost – Adam Bradford/Karen Appleby

a) Academic Affairs update



## FACULTY SENATE 2023-2024

### 10) Faculty Professional Policies Council - Andy Holland/ Libby Howe

a) FPPC priorities for the 2023-2024 term

### **11)** Continuing Business

- a) Status update and discussion of plans for existing working groups:
  - i) Diversity, Equity and Gender working group Fredi Giesler
  - ii) Non-Tenure Track Faculty working group Neelam Sharma
  - iii) Sustainability working group Dan Dale

### 12) New Business (Click link(s) below for document(s))

a) Elections update and motion to ratify newly elected reps to Senate Councils/Committees Academic Standards Council

**College of Ed –** Robin Lindbeck in for John Fitzpatrick who is retiring **Research Council** 

College of Ed – Shu-Yuan Lin in for Celal Perihan who is stepping down

College of Pharm – Elaine Nguyen in for Gustavo Gonzalez-Cuevas

#### General Education Requirements Committee

College of Ed – Beverly Ray in for Shu-Yuan Lin

- b) Call for nominations for Faculty Senate Executive Committee 2 are needed; from the Senate Bylaws, the Senate Executive Committee consists of "the Chair, Vice Chair, and three at-large members elected from the membership of the Faculty Senate. The immediate Past Chair serves as an ex-officio non-voting member of the Executive Committee. The at-large members of the Executive Committee are elected at the first Senate meeting of the academic year. Of the three at-large Senators, one must have served at least one year on Faculty Senate, and the other two must have served at least two years."
- c) Election of 2 Senators to fill the vacant at-large ExComm positions
- d) Presidential transition SOAR data collection for Senate
- e) Presidential search update and discussion of engaging SBOE in the search
- f) Discussion of possible new working groups and priorities for 2023-2024
- 13) Adjournment